Welcome to the thrilling conclusion of our three-part collection the place we information you thru deleting chilly subscribers out of your e-mail listing. If this looks like a scary determination, concern not! Belief that you just’re making a sensible choice for the well being of your e-mail listing.
First, a Fast Recap
Within the first weblog submit and video, we walked you thru the thought course of behind deleting a complete bunch of your e-mail subscribers. Within the second submit and video, we guided you in establishing the automations and reengagement e-mail sequence to determine the chilly subscribers in your listing.
On this third submit and accompanying video, we’ll present you the best way to delete the ultimate listing of chilly subscribers.
We’ll undergo the method of taking a look at and decoding the outcomes of the reengagement e-mail sequence, after which deleting the individuals who should be deleted.
Mindy’s video walks you thru the method intimately:
Reviewing the Outcomes of the Reengagement E-mail Sequence
Let’s begin by wanting on the outcomes of the reengagement e-mail sequence you in-built ConvertKit.
Open up your sequence, and you need to see one thing like this:

(You would possibly discover a small variety of subscribers are “caught,” and didn’t full the sequence. Take a look at this a part of Mindy’s video for element on what to do if that’s the case.)
Subsequent, we’re going to assessment the stories from the e-mail sequence.
Click on on the center icon in your sequence (E-mail Upkeep: Chilly Listing Pruning 2021-08 within the screenshot beneath), and click on on Reviews on the high.

Right here you’ll be able to assessment how your reengagement sequence carried out.
You’ll see an inventory of the emails within the sequence, in addition to their open and clickthrough charges and unsubscribes. You possibly can click on on every e-mail to get extra element on the way it carried out.
Subsequent, click on into the person emails to see the clicking charges for the incentives you provided in every e-mail. This can let you know whether or not any incentive carried out higher than the others, which can be useful sooner or later.
In our case, the entire emails’ open charges have been very low—all lower than 5%. For us, this was validation for endeavor the entire mission.

Sure, we may preserve these 91,000 individuals on our e-mail listing for self-importance’s sake as a result of it makes us really feel good to have an enormous listing. However we’re paying some huge cash for that self-importance. And it’s dragging down our engagement. It makes it more durable for us to foretell how individuals will react to our emails. And it’s ruining our sending authority with Gmail, Apple Mail, Yahoo! Mail, and different e-mail providers.
Deleting vs. Unsubscribing
A aspect word: What’s the distinction between deleting and unsubscribing somebody out of your listing?
The distinction between deleting and unsubscribing is that while you unsubscribe somebody, they keep searchable in your listing of subscribers so you’ll be able to return and entry their knowledge. If you delete someone, although, you are eradicating them totally, so you will not be capable of look them up and see their historical past with you.
And why are we selecting to delete these subscribers somewhat than unsubscribe them?
Maybe the largest cause is that ConvertKit doesn’t will let you bulk-unsubscribe individuals; it’s a must to do it manually. In case your listing is massive, that might be an onerous job. Deleting subscribers, nevertheless, might be automated.
Subscribe to our companion e-mail collection for extra element on deleting vs. unsubscribing, together with while you need to unsubscribe somebody as a substitute of deleting them.
Deleting Your Chilly Subscribers—Nearly!
When you’ve reviewed the entire particular person emails on the sequence overview report, let’s transfer on to the deletion course of!
A Little Validation Doesn’t Harm
If you wish to be sure you don’t delete someone who’s requested to remain in your listing, Mindy goes over how to try this in her video.
This step helps you determine in the event you made a mistake wherever in establishing the sequence. For example, you would possibly discover some subscribers who obtained tagged to remain on the listing, but in addition obtained the E-mail Upkeep: Chilly Listing Pruning Full tag. If that’s the case, you may make positive individuals have the right tags earlier than you progress to the deletion step.
When you’ve performed that (or chosen to skip it), you’ll be able to transfer on to at least one extra non-compulsory step—exporting a backup listing of subscribers to delete—earlier than you really do away with them.
Backing Up Your Listing of Deleted Subscribers
This ultimate step is non-compulsory, if you wish to preserve a document of who’s been deleted, simply in case. ConvertKit presents the flexibility to export a CSV file with the names and addresses of these deleted subscribers.
Take note you’re taking over some legal responsibility by having a spreadsheet with this data saved in your pc. We advocate solely storing the file for a brief interval, perhaps a number of months, then deleting it. You additionally need to be diligent in the way you safe the info, so somebody can’t entry the listing in the event you lose your laptop computer or get hacked.
Find out how to Exclude Subscribers from Your Backup
You must also contemplate excluding subscribers in areas with restrictive e-mail advertising guidelines, such because the European Union, out of your export listing. Fortunately, ConvertKit makes it straightforward to do that by making a section and excluding it from the export.
- Create a brand new section and identify it.
- Below Choose your subscribers, add the listing of individuals subscribed to the E-mail Upkeep: Chilly Listing Pruning Full tag.
- Add one other filter Matching not one of the following.
- Choose Inside a rustic or area and sort European Union.
- Click on Save.
Now you’ll be able to export your backup listing!
As soon as the listing masses, test the Subscriber field within the high left to pick out everybody, go to Bulk Actions, and choose Export.
ConvertKit will e-mail you a CSV. In the event you’re exporting a big listing, it’s going to take some time. Don’t transfer on to the following step till you obtain that CSV.
Deleting Your Chilly Subscribers—Lastly!
Right here we’re—the ultimate step! As soon as the CSV arrives, it’s time to delete these subscribers.
It’s possible you’ll really feel some trepidation, however that’s okay. You already know that you just’re doing the suitable factor for the well being of your e-mail listing.
- Open your listing of subscribers tagged for removing.
- Verify the Subscriber field within the high left to pick out everybody.
- Click on the hyperlink beneath the Subscriber checkbox to pick out your entire section.
- Go to Bulk Actions, and choose Delete.
- Fill out the shape to verify you need to delete these subscribers.

This course of goes to take some time. It is a “begin on the finish of the day and stroll away” form of course of.
As soon as it’s performed, attain out to ConvertKit to allow them to know you have deleted a considerable variety of your subscribers. This can assist them be sure that your invoice is correctly recalculated.
Congratulations! You’ve got made a wholesome selection on your e-mail listing, weighing efficiency over self-importance. It’s not a simple option to make, but it surely’s the suitable one. And bear in mind, we’ve a companion e-mail collection that can give you further help by means of this course of! Entry it at smartpassiveincome.com/chilly.